The Big Sister

Cora is a remarkable little lady to me. When I was pregnant with Ben she was 1ish and then when he was born she was just over 2. She really had no idea what was going on. I’m sure she knew something was going on, but to really understand it, no. We talked all the time about how a new baby was coming, she was going to be a big sister, she was going to have a baby brother. We tried to keep her involved as much as possible in the preparation, but I really have no idea how much good it did.

This time around, she was 3 when I got pregnant and is now 4. She is so much more aware of what is going on and really seems to get it. I have LOVED watching her excitement as we get stuff ready, she asks questions all the time about the new baby, she loves watching videos I get from babycenter.com on the development of the baby. She has really enjoyed going to my midwife appointments and gets so excited over the smallest things. She has said almost daily, “when the baby is born I’ll get to help you change her diaper and get her dressed, right?” She has loved helping me fold the wee, little clothes, putting the nursery together and just helping with getting stuff done.

She is a remarkable little girl. She’s so smart, has such a tender heart and truly loves being a big sister. She is beautiful and smart and loving–we call it the “full package” or “the triple threat!” I’m thankful for her, her helpful nature and her ability to make others feel loved and appreciated. I’m glad Ben and the new baby have her as their big sister.

IMG_0020

One thought on “The Big Sister

Leave a Reply

