Birthday Celebrating

Because we don’t know when Baby Girl is expected to arrive and because Ben’s birthday is actually the 20th, with the due date being the 25th, we decided to celebrate Ben’s 2nd b-day early–that’s what we did on Saturday! We celebrated with my parents, David’s mom, step dad, step sister, her husband, my grandma, our nephew, Riley, and niece, Haddie (my sister and BIL were away for a few days for job training for my BIL, and Sophia was at a family wedding with her other grandma!). We had a grand ol’ time! We did a baseball theme, ordered nuggets and mini chicken sandwiches from Chick-fil-a, and my mom, MIL and sister-in-law brought the rest of the food! Because we didn’t know where we’d be in the whole baby process we were trying to keep it very low-key. I did make a cake, but it was simple and didn’t require too much effort. Ben received all sorts of wonderful gifts from a stuffed dinosaur to a basketball hoop for outside. He loved all of it and was so excited as he opened up each gift. It was really cute to watch! The kids spent the afternoon playing with the new toys outside and when everyone was good and tired, they all went home. David’s family stayed here in our town at a hotel for the night so we met them over there with pizza and bathing suits. The kids got to swim at the hotel pool, which they thoroughly enjoyed! We got home in time for bed and well, I think they were pretty exhausted because they fell right to sleep! I would say Ben was well-celebrated! It was a great day, a relaxing day, and one fit for our little man. Enjoy the photos!

The cake...obviously...

The cake…obviously…

The girls...I think they look alike here...

The girls…I think they look alike here…

Miss Haddie Anne

Miss Haddie Anne

The spread...

The spread…

The cousins...we sure missed Sophia & Micah!

The cousins…we sure missed Sophia & Micah!

I told him to look at me...this is what he does.

I told him to look at me…this is what he does.

A stuffed dinosaur, he slept with that night!

A stuffed dinosaur, he slept with that night!

Trying out his foam swords with Riley!

Trying out his foam swords with Riley!

He blew his candle out right away--didn't even know he knew how!

He blew his candle out right away–didn’t even know he knew how!

Nothing says "I'm a big boy" like getting cake-eating help from Great Grandma!

Nothing says “I’m a big boy” like getting cake-eating help from Great Grandma!

Mr. Riley James

Mr. Riley James

2 thoughts on “Birthday Celebrating

Leave a Reply

