Psalm 139

I was having a particularly hard day the other day. Very emotional, very snappy and yelling at everyone in the family. My husband told me to calm down, and I didn’t appreciate that, even though I knew he was right. I took some time to be by myself and started praying and listening to music. I then opened my Bible and started ready through passages which always help me when I’m discouraged, scared, upset, etc. My most favorite is Psalm 139. It’s always been a huge encouragement to me. I know it well and every time I read it I think, “surely this time I won’t find anything new to help encourage me.” However, I’m always wrong and once again, the Lord spoke to me through his word. Because I was dealing with some fears of the labor/delivery process of baby girl and just other things that go along with that the following verses really spoke to me. I wanted to share them with you.

For you formed my inward parts;

you knitted me together in my

mother’s womb.

I praise you, for I am fearfully and 

wonderfully made.

Wonderful are your works;

my soul knows it very well.

My frame was not hidden from you,

when I was being made in secret,

intricately woven in the depths of

the earth.

Your eyes saw my unformed substance;

in your book were written, every one of 

them,

the days that were formed for me,

when as yet there was none of them.

Psalm 139: 13-16 ESV

God is so involved in our lives. I love the use of words of “intricately woven,” “made in secret,” the Lord knew all my days even before I was created and living them. He knows all the same of this unborn babe growing inside of me. I may have some illogical fears of her living through birth and such (illogical because there’s been nothing to indicate there will be issues), but if there are issues, God knows, and he’s still God. He is so involved in our lives that he forms us intricately in our mother’s womb. He knows our thoughts, he knows the words we’re going to say before we say them. This is the God I love and choose to follow. And, most importantly choose to trust.

Leave a Reply

