She’s HERE!!!!

Well, as you read in my post on Tuesday we have a new member to our family! Rebekah Lynn has joined us and wow! What a story she holds! And, just remember, this IS a birth story, so I’m not candy-coating things!

I had been having contractions for weeks, so on Tuesday when I was getting them again I didn’t think too much about it, or rather, I wasn’t getting all that excited about them. I dropped Cora off at vacation Bible school, David to work, and Ben and I went to a neighboring town and did a little shopping. We got home, I gave Ben a bath and the contractions were still coming. They were feeling some different. At 11 a.m. I decided they felt different enough that I had better start timing. They were coming every 5-10 min and lasting about 1-2 min. David had lunch plans with a friend and around noon I asked him to please cancel because things seemed to be moving along. I fed the kids, got Ben down for his nap, David settled Cora with a video, and we started packing the bag for the hospital. Called my mom and asked her to start heading our way. She asked if she could go home first, we said sure. We called her back about 10 minutes later and said, “No! You better just come!!!” By now the contractions were every 5 min and it was only about 12:30. My mom arrived at our house and we left getting to the hospital a little before 2 p.m. We got checked in and were in our holistic birthing room by about 2:10. My midwife came in, checked me and I was already 7 cm and 100% effaced!!!! Baby’s head was down and she could feel the water sack. We reminded everyone that I transition quickly and decided to just hunker down and get going. My friend, Nan, arrived to act as doula for us, and she wasn’t there long before I was able to get into the tub. I didn’t feel I was in the tub very long before I felt the need to push.

This is when things got a little crazy! With Cora and Ben I was hooked up to an epidural. Though I wasn’t 100% numbed, I was definitely not feeling everything 100%! This time around I was determined to do it naturally–hence our choice of hospital, birthing center, etc. Oh the pain!!!!!! I had David and Nan rubbing my back and then suddenly couldn’t STAND to be touched! They were reading Bible verses out loud to me and coaching me through, and then I couldn’t handle them talking to me! I was yelling, “stop talking to me! Stop touching me!” All the while, feeling like my insides were going to come out! The need to push was so intense, and I was getting more and more frantic as time went on. I pushed out her head and then I really unraveled–not my proudest moment! With the other 2, once the head was out it seemed to me the body just quickly followed. However, since I was feeling everything it apparently takes harder pushing, or something. All I knew was things were different and it HURT!!!! I started freaking out. Yelling I couldn’t do it, she was never going to come, etc. I have NO idea how much time passed, probably not as much as it seemed. My midwife kept telling me to focus and just push. I just couldn’t. I seriously felt frozen. Satan was throwing so much fear and anxiety in my face. A voice of reason (it was God, through my midwife, David and Nan) said to me, “focus!” Somehow I was able to ask David to please start praying out loud. I said, “Satan is attacking me and I need you to pray out loud.” He did, and somehow I was able to take a deep breath, focus and pushed. Out slithered Rebekah, and I was so relieved!!! I cried and laughed and was just so thankful it was all over with!

The plan was, as it usually is, for me and Rebekah to stay in the tub as long as we wanted, or at least until the placenta was delivered. However, the midwife noticed that the cord was hardly attached any longer to the placenta, and she wanted me out of the water right away. David cut the cord, took Rebekah while I managed to get out of the tub and to the bed. Side note: It was so neat for me to be able to FEEL my legs right after birth!!! Another side note: In the process of them getting Rebekah’s ID bracelet she peed on David! I thought that was kinda funny! Anyway! I had to wait for contractions to get the placenta out, and the midwife was not able to assist as she didn’t want to pull the cord and detach it from the placenta. I don’t know yet if this was an overly serious thing, obviously not as serious had Rebekah not already been born, but it concerned me, and my midwife seemed to just want to get the whole thing done. It came out, thankfully all in one piece, and all seemed to go smoothly from there.

Rebekah and I had a long time of bonding, or as it’s called “kangaroo time,” where it’s just skin to skin contact. She started nursing right away and hasn’t really stopped! They didn’t rush to take her away to weigh and measure or check her over. It was so wonderful. So relaxing, NON-chaotic. I’ll blog about our hospital experience later. But, I’ll say now it was so great and wonderful and just what we had wanted with all 3 kids.

We stayed in the hospital for 24 hrs and were discharged on Wednesday around 5 p.m. It’s been nice to be home, be with Cora and Ben and just be a family of 5. God has blessed us with 3 beautiful children, and we love them so much! Enjoy the photos! I’m sure I’ll have many more to share later!

Oh blessed relief! She's out and I'm so glad!

Oh blessed relief! She’s out, and I’m so glad!

YEAH! We're so happy you're here, Rebekah!

YEAH! We’re so happy you’re here, Rebekah!

The midwife, Sharon and student. Great job with both of them!

The midwife, Sharon and student. Great job with both of them!

My friend Nan, who was a great help and doula!

My friend Nan, who was a great help and doula!

Daddy loving on his precious new baby girl!

Daddy loving on his precious new baby girl!

Hello world! I'm here and I'm a chunk! 9 lbs., 4 oz., 21 in. long!

Hello world! I’m here and I’m a chunk! 9 lbs., 4 oz., 21 in. long!

Cora and Ben meeting Rebekah for the first time! I do believe they are both in love!!

Cora and Ben meeting Rebekah for the first time! I do believe they are both in love!!

Newborn sweetness

Newborn sweetness

I love this little lady so much!

I love this little lady so much!

The new Hardin family!

The new Hardin family!

Time to go home!

Time to go home!

5 thoughts on “She’s HERE!!!!

  1. “I’ve been tired for so long,” I told our midwife, and I collapsed over the edge of the pool after each contraction.

Leave a Reply

