Paleo Chocolate Cake

My sister passed along a chocolate cake recipe to me. I thought I would give it a whirl. As is what I usually do, I made it for company! Well, wouldn’t you? It was DELICIOUS!!!!!!! All 4 children who were eating it had seconds, as did my friend and I! My husband even liked it, and he doesn’t usually like chocolate cake. So, I felt I had to share it with you! I failed to get a photo of it, but honestly, other than the batter being thicker than “regular” cake batter it came out pretty much looking like it had been made with white flour and not coconut! Here’s the recipe. i’m also including the recipe I used for the chocolate frosting (also from my sister!). I hope you make this cake and LOVE it just like I do!

PALEO CHOCOLATE CAKE

1 c coconut flour

3/4 c cocoa powder

3/4 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp sea salt

9 eggs

3/4 c coconut oil (butter or ghee), melted (more for greasing pans)

1 c + 2 Tbsp maple syrup

3/4 c brewed coffee (or water, which is what I used)

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Grease 2 round cake pans and line the bottoms with parchment paper (I highly recommend!).

3. Combine coconut flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt in a small bowl and set aside.

4. In the bowl of a stand mixer, with whisk attachment, whisk the eggs.

5. Add the oil/butter/ghee, maple syrup, coffee and vanilla extract, and continue to mix until combined.

6. Add dry ingredients to the wet ingredients.

7. Mix on low speed until the dry ingredients are incorporated–about 30 seconds. Scrape down sides of mixing bowl, and beat cake batter on high speed for about 1 full minute so the batter is fluffy.

8. Divide batter between the 2 prepared pans–it will be thick. Spread batter out evenly in the pan.

9. Bake for 25 min (for 5 in pans), or 30 min (for 9 in pans), or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. (NOTE: I only baked for 23 min and used 9 in. pans. Be sure not to over-bake as it’ll be dry!)

10. Allow to cool on a wire rack for about 10-15 min. Use a knife to loosen the sides of the cake from the pan and turn out onto a wire rack and allow to cool completely. Frost, eat and enjoy!

CHOCOLATE FROSTING

24 oz semisweet chocolate chips

1 1/2 c heavy cream (or almond milk–which is what I used)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

4 Tbsp (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature (or coconut oil)

1. Place the chocolate chips and heavy cream (or almond milk) in a bowl set over a pot of simmering water, stirring occasionally, until the chips are completely melted.

2. Off the heat, add vanilla and allow the chocolate mixture to cool to room temperature.

3. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, whisk the chocolate mixture and softened butter on medium speed for a few minutes, until frosting is thickened. (NOTE: If you use almond milk this will take about 10-15 minutes to accomplish on HIGH speed.)

2 thoughts on “Paleo Chocolate Cake

  1. Pingback: What I Know | Ponderings from a Pastor's Wife

Leave a Reply

