Move-Over-Shepherd’s-Pie Casserole

I have been pinning many recipes on Pinterest of foods I can eat. That means food that is GRAIN free, SOY free and DAIRY free. Not only is this how I have to eat, but we’re learning more and more that it’s the best way for us as a family to eat–we all do so much better without grain, soy and dairy. Anyway, I finally got around to printing off some of the recipes to start trying them. As we try them I’ll be adding the ones we like to my blog so you can have some healthy alternatives to your weekly dinner menu!

Shepherd’s pie is something I have always enjoyed. However, it’s usually made with cheese, and potatoes aren’t the healthiest thing to eat as it’s more starch than vegetable. I was excited to see this recipe. I made it last week, and David and I really enjoyed it. Cora said she liked it and then refused to eat it, so who knows? And, Ben isn’t eating anything but fruit these days so I wouldn’t trust his opinion! But, here’s what David said about it, “I was very suspicious when I saw the Brussel sprouts and cauliflower, but I have to say this is delicious, and you should definitely make it again.” YEAH! Below is the recipe and in the parentheses is what I did differently!

Move-Over-Shepherd’s-Pie Casserole

Bottom Layer:

1 small onion, chopped

227 g mushrooms, sliced (didn’t have them so didn’t use them. Though we were sad not to have had them!)

454 g (1 lb???) ground beef

2 Tbsp tomato paste

1 tsp dry mustard

1 tsp anchovy paste (did not use)

1/4 tsp salt (I used Kosher)

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/4 tsp ground coriander (didn’t use as I didn’t have any)

1/8 tsp ground clove

1/8 tsp cinnamon

few grinds freshly grated nutmeg (I just did a couple shakes of ground nutmeg)

1/4 c water

Middle Layer (I simply mixed this with the above layer):

400 g turnip, cut into 1/2′ pieces (didn’t find turnips so used carrots)

400 g Brussel sprouts, quartered

1/4 c sliced almonds, toasted (didn’t use as I burned them while toasting…)

Top Layer:

1 large head cauliflower

2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

few grinds nutmeg

1/2 tsp Dijon mustard (didn’t have so used spicy mustard)

toasted almonds and fresh parsley to garnish

Instructions:

1. Heat large skillet over medium-high heat. When pan is hot enough, melt a little bit of coconut oil then add the mushrooms and cook them until they get all nice and golden brown on both sides. Add onion and cook until fragrant, about 2-3 minutes. (I also cooked the carrot at this point, and add yellow squash too.)

2. Add ground beef and continue cooking until the beef is no longer pink.

3. Meanwhile, combine tomato paste, mustard, anchovy paste, salt, pepper, coriander, clove, cinnamon, nutmeg and water in a small mixing bowl. Stir until well blended and pour over cooked ground beef. Continue cooking for a few minutes until liquid has completely evaporated.

4. Transfer to an oven safe dish (or several individual ones) and set aside.

5. Cut the cauliflower into small florets and throw it into a saucepan with about a cup of salted water. Place a steaming basket over that saucepan an dadd the turnip and Brussel sprouts to it. Sprinkle with a little bit of salt, cover and steam until all the veggies are fork tender, about 5 minutes. If you don’t have a steam basket, you can cook the veggies in 2 separate pots (or in microwave, as I did!).

6. Dry roast the almonds in a small skillet set over medium heat (watch closely so as not to burn, like I did!!!).

7. When veggies are cooked, add turnip and Brussel sprouts on top of the reserved meat. Sprinkle with toasted almonds and set aside once again.

8. Add cauliflower, olive oil, salt, pepper, nutmeg and Dijon mustard to the bowl of your food processor and process until smooth. You might have to scrape the sides and push the cauliflower down a few times to get all the pieces in.

9. Spread puree over the casserole.

10. Drizzle with a tiny little bit of olive oil and place under the broiler for a few minutes until a beautiful golden crust forms. (I don’t have a broiler so I baked this at 450 degrees F for about 15-20 min. Still got browned on top.)

11. Garnish with almonds and parsley before serving.

Leave a Reply

