Flaky, Buttery Biscuits

Here’s another recipe for you to try! I have really been enjoying the website realsustenance.com. The woman who writes the blog does a ton of experiments with different flours, sugars, dairy/non-dairy, egg/no egg, etc to get yummy recipes that those of us with food intolerances can enjoy. Everything I have tried from her blog I have enjoyed. I find her blog easy to navigate, and she’ll tell you why you should/shouldn’t use particular ingredients. Anyway! I printed off the recipe for her biscuits. I miss bread of any kind. I was a bread-eating maniac back in the day and well, I just plain miss it. Since buying almond meal I have been trying out recipes that have almond meal in it. I made the biscuits last week, and we all enjoyed them! You can tell they’re not made with wheat flour (although the texture isn’t off-putting or anything), but David said they were still quite good, and the kids loved them, too! And, it did satisfy my craving for sinking my teeth into some bread! I’ll definitely be making these often, or whenever we need biscuits. The only drawback we saw was they were pretty dry the next day. I made mine with butter this time around, and I think next time I’ll try lard. That might help keep them from going dry so fast. Anyway! Here’s the recipe! The title is linked to the original recipe on realsustenance.com!

Flaky, Butter Biscuits

2 packed cups blanched almond flour

1/2 c starch (arrowroot, tapioca, potato or sweet potato starch)–I used potato starch

1/2 tsp salt

1/2-3/4 tsp baking soda (see note below)–I did 1/2 tsp

1/2 c butter, Earth Balance, bacon lard, or shortening

2 large eggs

3/4 tsp vinegar or lemon juice–I used vinegar

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a bowl, combine the almond flour, starch, salt and baking soda. (NOTE: some brands of baking soda are strong tasting, especially those that contain aluminum. So, unless you are using Bob’s Red Mill baking soda I recommend using just 1/2 tsp otherwise the flavor may overpower.)

3. To the bowl add the fat of your choice. Cut the fat into the flour until the fat is about the size of a pea.

4. In a separate small bowl whisk together the eggs and vinegar. Pour mixture in with the flour and mix just briefly and gently until the dough comes together. It may feel a little wet.

5. Dust a sheet of parchment, or your counter, with additional starch. Gently pat the dough into a round and cut into 6-8 biscuits using a biscuit cutter or the top of a round glass. Use as much starch as needed to prevent sticking. I found they stuck a lot less then biscuits I’ve made with wheat flour! I just put the starch directly on my counter.

6. Bake for 18 minutes. Yields 6-8 biscuits.

ENJOY!

One thought on “Flaky, Buttery Biscuits

  1. Pingback: 2 Years and Still Pressing On | Ponderings from a Pastor's Wife

Leave a Reply

