4 Months!

Last week Rebekah turned 4 months old! Yesterday I took her to her 4 month well-check, and she is a-growin’–she is 17 lbs and 26 in long!!! WOW! She is rolling, still trying to figure out how to got from belly to back and is figuring out how to laugh! She is also still not sleeping consistently, or taking naps, and I’m having the darndest time getting her on a feeding schedule. So, it was with great exhaustion and weariness I asked our pediatrician for some help. I was hoping an outside perspective would be helpful, and it was! See, Rebekah will not take naps. I have tried the whole cry-it-out, watching her cues, etc. Naturally, by 5:00 p.m. she is exhausted and ready to sleep. And she does, until 11 p.m. She is then up about every 2 hrs the rest of the night. She also seems to snack all day long. It’s very rare that I can get her to finish a bottle in one sitting. This is all new territory to me. I believe Cora and Ben managed to get on eating/sleeping schedules by this point. So, here’s what the pediatrician recommended: Let Rebekah take a wee nap from 5-6 p.m. and get her up at 6. From there, feed her and make her stay up until 8. At 8, put her to bed. If she wakes up we’re going to try not feeding her because she should be able to go 6-8 hours without eating, especially at night. Then, I need to work even harder during the day to get her to take a nap in the morning and afternoon. She has been a super fussy baby for a while now, and we know it’s not her belly hurting. It’s obvious she’s tired. She fights sleep like I’ve never seen a child do. We’re all tired and David and I need more than 2 hour stretches at night…If you think of us, please pray that this works. Oh, we’re also going to start giving her a little bit of rice cereal during the day (like 1x a day for starters) in hopes that this will help keep her feeling fuller longer. Anyway, I’m tired and so very frustrated by it all. I keep thinking she is my 3rd baby it shouldn’t be so hard. however, our pediatrician was good to remind me that she IS our third baby, so we have a lot of experience, but she IS her own little person and will still throw us some curve balls. Anyway, I feel much encouraged and am glad we have some kind of a plan. I feel like a first time mom with all this, but am going to try not to stay frustrated and just forge on! She is our Bekah Boo and we love her so much! She continues to be such a joy to us and it cracks me up how excited the kids STILL get every. single. time. they see Bekah roll over: “Mommy! Mommy! Mommy! Come QUICK! Bekah rolled over!!!”

IMG_4211

One thought on “4 Months!

Leave a Reply

