Chocolate Chip Cookies

So, it’s been over 2 years since I’ve had a chocolate chip cookie. I’m not a huge cookie person, but I do enjoy chocolate chip, probably because of the chocolate! In my attempts to find good recipes to use that I can eat (meaning no grain in them and little to no dairy) I came across this recipe. It’s from a lady, Danielle Walker, who has a blog called “Against All Grain.” I have tried a few of her recipes and they have all been really good! These cookies are no exception! I will say this: the flavor is great! You can really taste the chocolate! The texture is a bit different. They are more spongy. However, don’t let that keep you from trying out the recipe. They are worth it. And, as I’m learning with grain-free recipes, the quantity is small–you only get about 12 cookies. I suppose if you made them really small you’d get more but that wouldn’t be much fun, huh? Here’s the recipe! The title is a link to the original.

IMG_4494

Real-Deal Chocolate Chip Cookies 

1/4 cup palm shortening or grass-fed butter (I used butter)

1/4 cup coconut palm sugar (I used regular ol’ sugar)

2 Tbsp. honey

1 large egg, room temperature

2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups blanched almond flour

2 Tbsp coconut flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup dark chocolate pieces

1/4 cup enjoy life chocolate chips (I used 1/2 a cup of semi sweet chips)

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. In a food processor, cream the palm shortening, coconut sugar, honey, egg and vanilla for about 15 seconds until smooth and fluffy.

3. Add the almond flour, coconut flour, baking soda and sea salt, and mix again until combined, about 30 seconds. Scrape down the sides of the bowl if needed in order to incorporate all of the flour. Pulse once or twice more.

4. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand.

5. Place golf-ball sized balls of dough on a cookie sheet lined with parchment or a SilPat. (this is very important as they WILL stick otherwise! I used parchment paper.) Using another sheet of parchment on top of the dough, flatten them slightly with the palm of your hand or a spatula. The cookies don’t spread much so create the size and thickness you want prior to baking them.

6. Bake for 9-12 minutes, until slightly golden around the edges.

 

Leave a Reply

