40 Years Ago…

On Sunday my parents celebrated their 40th wedding anniversary! They were young, in college and deeply in love! They are still young (seriously, I don’t think my parents look their age, or old enough to have been married for 40 years!), not in college and still deeply in love. My sister and I threw them a party on Saturday (with the help of our husbands and my sister’s MIL). We invited many of their friends and family and simply celebrated them! We had a great time of eating, visiting, laughing, sharing stories and sharing what Dad and Mom have meant to us, and how they’ve touched the lives of those who attended. It was such a special night. The thing both my sister and I shared is when growing up, we always knew our parents didn’t have a perfect marriage, but we never doubted their love for each other. We also knew, and still do know, they are together not simply because of a piece of paper but because they WANT to be together. I love the example they have given to us as to what a marriage based on God looks like. I love you Dad and Mom! Happy Anniversary, again!

My sister took care of all the decorations. She's very gifted in this...she made copies of my parent's wedding photos and clipped them to the balloons and also around the mason jar center pieces. So cute!

My sister took care of all the decorations. She’s very gifted in this…she made copies of my parent’s wedding photos and clipped them to the balloons and also around the mason jar center pieces. So cute!

Mom's wedding colors were lavender and light pink! The bridesmaids carried pink carnations...

Mom’s wedding colors were lavender and light pink! The bridesmaids carried pink carnations…

We had a card on each table with 2 truths and 1 lie written on it. It was so much fun to hear what people thought was the truth! And, even funnier when Mom and Dad couldn't remember the correct answers! :)

We had a card on each table with 2 truths and 1 lie written on it. It was so much fun to hear what people thought was the truth! And, even funnier when Mom and Dad couldn’t remember the correct answers! 

Mom's bouquet was white roses, white carnations and baby's breath

Mom’s bouquet was white roses, white carnations and baby’s breath

We had everyone sign the photo mat and then put it all in a frame for Dad and Mom!

We had everyone sign the photo mat and then put it all in a frame for Dad and Mom!

My sister redid their wedding album, which was literally falling apart! She did a beautiful job!!

My sister redid their wedding album, which was literally falling apart! She did a beautiful job!!

Dad and Mom with us, their kids! Just no grandkids this time around!

Dad and Mom with us, their kids! Just no grandkids this time around!

The happy couple!

The happy couple!

Leave a comment