Homemade Sausage Patties

Since changing the way we eat we have increased our consumption of bacon and sausage. And, yes, we’re losing weight! Not gaining it! Anyway, have you ever read the ingredients on pre-made sausage patties in the grocery store? Unless you’re going to pay an arm and leg at a store like Whole Foods Market or Trader Joe’s, you’re going to have a hard time finding sausage that doesn’t have ingredients in it that is NOT meat and seasonings. I was so excited to find this recipe for homemade sausage! And, let me tell you, IT IS SO GOOD!!!! I’m not a huge sausage fan. I eat it, but it’s not something I crave, or anything. However, this stuff? SO GOOD! So much flavor! I had to share the recipe with you! On a side note, the one thing I will change next time is not adding as much onion to the mix. Other than that–YUM! I have linked the title to the blog I got the recipe from! I added my own notes in italics.

Make Ahead Homemade Sausage Patties:

2 lbs. ground pork, at room temperature

1.25 lbs. ground turkey, at room temperature

1/4 c pureed, or finely chopped, onion (puree in food processor)

2 tsp. finely minced fresh parsley, or dried if you don’t have fresh

2 tsp. sea salt

1 tsp. ground sage

1/2 tsp. dried thyme

1 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. black pepper

1 tsp. dried basil

1 tsp. dried oregano

2 tsp. pure maple syrup, optional (I left this out)

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, optional (I left this out)

1. Combine all the seasonings and mix until well blended.

 

IMG_4996

 

2. Add in ground meat, syrup and onion, using your hands to combine thoroughly. If cooking right away, shape into patties and cook over med-high heat on heavy skillet or griddle sprayed lightly with oil (I encourage you to lightly grease your skillet/griddle). Cook until nice and brown and no longer pink in the middle, a few minutes on each side.

 

 

IMG_4997

3. To shape patties you can either use your hands (which is what I did) or…take some meat and place between 2 layers of plastic wrap. With a  rolling pin roll out meat to desired thickness. Remove top layer of plastic wrap. Take a round cookie cutter, or top of a drinking glass, and press down to cut out nice, round sausage patties. Transfer to hot griddle, or baking sheet to be frozen. To save room in freezer, put parchment paper down, fill with patties, layer with another sheet of parchment, patties, etc. until all meat is made into patties. I was able to get 3 doz patties made.

IMG_5000

4. Oh! And make sure you have a REALLY cute assistant! This is the most important part of the whole process!

IMG_4994

3 thoughts on “Homemade Sausage Patties

Leave a Reply

