Grain Free Sandwich Bread

Update 1-26-14: I made this again, only this time omitting the applesauce. I found it to be so much better! Not nearly as sweet, moist or fruit-bread like. That’s how I’ll make it from now on, I do believe! I might also try it w/out the agave (I used honey) next time and see. 

I found another grain-free sandwich bread recipe and thought I’d try it. Eh. It was OK. Sandwich bread? No, I would not say it’s sandwich bread. It’s a bit sweet and very much the texture of banana or pumpkin bread. It was yummy toasted, and I could see making it into French toast, but I don’t think I would put salami or roast beef and cheese between 2 slices of it. However, it was a decent bread, didn’t take long to make and was rather simple so I figure, make it yourself, and you be the judge! How’s that for advertising? I don’t remember where I found the recipe so I can’t link it to the original spot…My added comments are in italics

IMG_4992

Sandwich Bread (term “sandwich” used loosely!):

2 c. almond flour

2 Tbsp. coconut flour

1 1/2 tsp. baking soda

5 eggs

1 Tbsp. agave (I used maple syrup, honey would be good too, and I think plain ol’ sugar would be fine!)

1/4 c. coconut oil

1/4 c. applesauce (I’m thinking next time I may cut this amount in 1/2 or just omit all together. I think it’s what made the bread too sweet and heavy)

1/2 tsp. salt.

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Whisk dry ingredients together in medium bowl.

3. Put eggs, agave, and applesauce in small bowl and whisk together.

4. Add wet ingredients to the dry and mix to form dough (more like a batter).

5. Pour in greased loaf pan and bake for 35 min.

6. Cool in pan.

Leave a Reply

